Special Education
Special education is specially designed instruction based on the needs of an individual student. As required by law, School District 197 provides a free, appropriate public education to about 900 students with disabilities from birth through age 21 who attend both public and private schools. A team develops, implements and reviews each student’s individual program. Please see School District 197’s Special Education section for more information.

Friendly Hills' Special Education team is dedicated to helping each individual child achieve success. Staff are devoted to students and leave no stone unturned in their quest to help each one achieve his or her potential.

FRIENDLY HILLS SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS

Anne Barnes, Developmental Cognitive Disabilities (DCD) Teacher
651-403-7636 | anne.barnes@isd197.org


Karen Bird, 5th Grade Special Education Teacher
651-403-7686 | karen.bird@isd197.org | webpage

Alexandra Hodson
, Occupational Therapist
651-403-8128 | alexandra.hodson@isd197.org

Mary Jo Hangge, Special Education Teacher 
641-403-XXXX | maryjo.hangge@isd197.org | about me

Theresa HultingSpeech-Language Pathologist 
651-403-XXXX | theresa.hulting@isd197.org

Rachel London-Nyhus, School Psychologist
651-403-7600 | rachel.londonnyhus@isd197.org

Jane McAllister, Special Education Teacher
651-403-7600 | jane.mcallister@isd197.org | webpage

Jocelyn MogrenSpeech-Language Pathologist 
651-403-XXXX | jocelyn.mogren@isd197.org

Judy Motzko, Occupational Therapist
651-403-7714 | judy.motzko@isd197.org

Kelly Solberg, 6th Grade Special Education Teacher
651-403-7656 | kelly.solberg@isd197.org | webpage

Maxwell Turrentine, Special Education Teacher
651-403-7600 | maxwell.turrentine@isd197.org | webpage

Andrea Weigenant, 7th Grade Special Education Teacher

651-403-7694 | andrea.weigenant@isd197.org webpage


STAFF BIOS


  Jocelyn Kennealy
Hello! My name is Jocelyn Kennealy and I began teaching in Mendota in 2017 at Friendly Hills Middle School. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities in 2009. I received my Master of Science degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders from the University of North Dakota in 2012. I also hold my Certificate of Clinical Competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). I live in St. Paul with my husband. In my free time, I enjoy watching baseball, playing with my nieces, and spending time at my family’s cabin in Stillwater.
 
Theresa Hulting

Hello!  My name is Theresa Hulting and I am a Speech-Language Pathologist at Pilot Knob STEM Magnet School and Friendly Hills Middle School.  I began my career as Speech-Language Pathologist in 2006 and began working for ISD 197 in 2017.  I hold a bachelor's degree in psychology from Hamline University and a master's degree in communication disorders from the University of Minnesota.  In my free time I enjoy hiking and going on bike rides with my husband and two children.