Special Education
Special education is specially designed instruction based on the needs of an individual student. As required by law, School District 197 provides a free, appropriate public education to about 900 students with disabilities from birth through age 21 who attend both public and private schools. A team develops, implements and reviews each student’s individual program. Please see School District 197’s Special Education section for more information.

Friendly Hills' Special Education team is dedicated to helping each individual child achieve success. Staff are devoted to students and leave no stone unturned in their quest to help each one achieve his or her potential.

FRIENDLY HILLS SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS

Anne Barnes, Developmental Cognitive Disabilities (DCD) Teacher
651-403-7636 | anne.barnes@isd197.org


Karen Bird, 5th Grade Special Education Teacher
651-403-7686 | karen.bird@isd197.org | webpage

Clark Donnelly,
Special Education Teacher

651-403-7600 | clark.donnelly@isd197.org | webpage

Rachel London-Nyhus, School Psychologist
651-403-7600 | rachel.londonnyhus@isd197.org

Jane McAllister, Special Education Teacher
651-403-7600 | jane.mcallister@isd197.org | webpage

Judy Motzko, Occupational Therapist
651-403-7714 | judy.motzko@isd197.org

Kelly Solberg, 6th Grade Special Education Teacher
651-403-7656 | kelly.solberg@isd197.org | webpage

Kristina Solberg, Speech-Language Pathologist 
651-403-7732 | kristina.solberg@isd197.org | See bio below

Maxwell Turrentine, Special Education Teacher
651-403-7600 | maxwell.turrentine@isd197.org | webpage

Andrea Weigenant, 7th Grade Special Education Teacher

651-403-7694 | andrea.weigenant@isd197.org webpage


STAFF BIOS

Kristina HesseKristina Solberg

I attended the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire and graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD) in 2007 and a Master’s degree in CSD in 2009. I obtained my Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology (CCC-SLP), the national certification for a speech-language pathologist, after finishing my clinical fellowship year in 2010. My career began as a speech-language pathologist in 2009 when I started working at Friendly Hills Middle School. Two of my favorite hobbies are running and traveling. I try to run at least one marathon a year, and one of my long-term goals is to run a marathon in every US state.